Sauces

Homemade Pizza / Pasta Sauce

Hii there my lovely people,

Hope you all are having a great time! Its been a very hectic week for me till now and there have piled up so many things to tell you, so many posts to update, continuous fight between my stamina and will power, butย today the latter won ๐Ÿ™‚

I will be sharing today an easiest, yummiest and one of my favorite recipes. ๐Ÿ˜€ โ€ฆ…….. ย canโ€™t stop smiling ๐Ÿ˜€

But before that, a confession!ย  After going through blogs of many other pretty awesome food bloggers, I have noticed that I straight-away (almost) start with the recipe details. I do not write a nice background, a story for you or what all I did this morning, like many others doโ€ฆโ€ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I don’tย know, I haveย really not been intoย writing before. Trying my best, but it mightย take some time. Please bear with me till then! I love you all ๐Ÿ™‚

This blog came up because I felt that now, after quite a few years of experimenting in the kitchen, I should start noting down my recipes and should also share what all I have learned by making mistakes. This will also help me grow further as I will also ย get to learn a lot from you guys, who are all passionate about cooking and everything else related to the kitchen.

So, this time it is a simple, but a delish sauce, which is quick to make and you can use it not only in your pasta & pizzas, but also in your wraps, quesadillas, ย lasagna, and evenย sandwiches.

11

22

44

I filled myย mason jar of 1.5 ltr with the pasta sauce. Stored it in the fridge for about 20+ days and it was absolutely great. There were guests arriving at home for home-made pizzaโ€™s(soon will be a post), so half the jar got over in 1 day only. For this I took 1 kgs fresh tomatoes. The below ingredients are as per the same quantity.

Ingredients:

1kgs fresh tomatoes โ€“ washed & head removed (in the pic above)

8-10 fresh garlic cloves โ€“ washed, peeled & finely chopped into a paste

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp chilli flakes ( you can add more if you want spicy)

2-3 tbs tomato ketchup

Pinch of sugar

Method:

  1. We need to make a fresh tomato puree, so on the lower side of each tomato, make two cuts in the peel, in the shape of a cross or a plus. You donโ€™t have to cut deep, just a cut in its skin in two directions.
  2. We need to peel off the skin of the tomatoes easily, so we will put them in hot boiling water for about 10 seconds and then immediately in cold water in another bowl. This will help them loosen up their skin and it will become very easy to remove it by hand. But for this, the cuts we made in the first step are very important.
  3. Boil up the water in a deep pan, and carefully add these tomatoes one by one. Remove each after about 10-15 seconds and transfer it in another bowl with cold water for about the same time.
  4. When you have done this with all tomatoes, drain off the cold water and peel off the skin. You will see it is now very easy to peel. Now, cut into halves, and make a fresh puree out of this in your mixer /chopper / food processor.
  5. When you are done, heat a deep pan, add olive oil and immediately pour the puree. The flame should be high. Keep on stirring, to dry off the excess water. Add garlic paste (fresh garlic paste gives an absolutely diff flavor). We want a fresh garlic flavor, so we do not add it in the oil first.
  6. Add salt, pinch of sugar, oregano, chilli flakes and the ketchup after about 10mins.
  7. Keep on stirring till it becomes thick like a sauce for pasta. We do not have to make it very dry. It should have a sauce consistency. So turn off the flame as this is achieved. It should take approx. 10-15 min. max on a high flame to reach this.

Taste it ๐Ÿ™‚ and let me know your feedback. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you enjoyed.

P.s. Many people told me they also saute onions with the tomatoes and then puree it together for this sauce. I have tried both, but personally, I prefer the tomato only version more. I find it tangier and tomatoeeyy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

What do you prefer?

4 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza / Pasta Sauce

Leave a Reply

