desserts · Sweets

White Chocolate Mawa Barfi (Dessert)

11

44

33

Hello you lovely people! I Missed you! Hope you all are doing great 🙂 😀

Yes, I am back after a long time. Almost 3 weeks!

I have been going through  back-pain  from quite some time which used to increase by the time I returned from my office. After banking on some exercises from internet, I finally went to see a doctor. After his diagnosis, the first thing he said that no medicines can heal what exercises will, so one thing you have to do is to stick to exercises. Now, I am doing them regularly (trying my best) and hoping that I am out of this pain soon. Sometimes the pain is so bad that it’s difficult to get up. But I have realized that it is really important to eat healthy and exercise on a regular basis. I am planning to make some changes in my diet plan and consume raw & healthy items more. Unfortunately, I realized after going through this pain. 😦 😦 Don’t do it like me.

Now I feel that only when I am fit, I will be able to bake and cook for others! That motivates me. 🙂

My family has a sweet tooth, especially my father. He has to have something sweet after every meal. Usually he goes for the Petha made with white pumpkin a dessert from Agra, in North India. But this time I thought of making something for him. If it can be homemade, why not! I had some khoya (mawa) left in the freezer already, so I thought of using it up and making some chocolate barfis. These were really quick to make and I was done in half an hour. You can use any chocolate you like, I used white for a change. 😛

55

Servings: Made about 20 small pieces       Prep Time: 10mins     Cooking Time: 20 mins

Ingredients:

250gms khoya / mawa

½ cup pistachios – chopped

½ cup almonds – chopped

1/2 cup cranberries

1/2 cup sugar

Pinch of saffron for color and taste

½ tsp cardamom powder

½ cup white chocolate – chopped

½ cup chocolate chips – optional – I used strawberry, you can use any

What to do:

  1. In a deep pan, add khoya on a low flame. Turn the flame medium and Keep on stirring till it’s completely melted. Simmer the flame after sometime. This complete melting shall take about 20mins with frequent stirring. Add the sugar and continue stirring. When sugar is completely combined and the mawa starts moving with your stir, turn off the flame.
  2. Transfer it into another bowl and add the almonds, pistachios, cranberries, saffron & cardamom and combine well.
  3. Line your tray or plate(with a depth of an inch) with parchment paper or grease it with oil.
  4. Pour the melted mawa onto the plate and and spread it evenly to a thickness of ½ an inch.
  5. Let it cool and then keep it in the freezer for 15mins.
  6. Melt white chocolate on a double boiler and pour the same on the mawa layer.
  7. You can further add some chocolate chips if you like. This is totally optional.
  8. Let it freeze for an hour in the freezer.
  9. Take out and cut it into squares or with any shape cutter you like.

 

Tip: Because white chocolate is very sweet so to balance that I have kept the sugar in the mawa very low.

These I made last Sunday and are already over. The combination of dry fruits, mawa and different flavors and strawberry chocolate chips made this amazing!

Do try and let me know! 🙂

Have an awesome Sunday people!

4 thoughts on “White Chocolate Mawa Barfi (Dessert)

    1. Thankyou so much Ronit. Oh I missed adding the link for Khoya, but now you’ve googled so you must be knowing that it can be easily made at home also with a few simple ingredients. 🙂
      Thanks again for your good wishes. I hope so too. Lots of love ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

