Cakes · desserts

Apple Cinnamon Coffee upside-down Cake (Eggless)

4

10

12

7

3

1

5

I was meeting a few of my very dear college friends in the weekend and obviously they wanted a cake from me. Yes, for no reason. Everybody loves cake for no reason, and even I didn’t need a reason to bake one! πŸ˜‰

It was all baked in a hurry as there was not much time to think and bake. Out of my three friends I was meeting, 2 are not very fond of chocolates. Yes, there are people who dislike chocolates. So I knew no chocolate cake this time. And they thought I would bring the simplest, the obvious chocolate cake, so it somehow also became a surprise!

When there’s very little time and you have to bake something for others, all the options come to the mind and it becomes difficult to decide. This wastes even more time! Obviously I had no time to do icing, so it had to be a cake with nice Β flavors which can do without icing. I opened my fridge to all the confusions in my head, and saw a few apples sitting there in peace. As I looked them, it was decided that only an apple cake can do justice at this hour. So, an apple cinnamon cake. But it sounded a little boring, so I added instant expresso powder to it with a handful of cranberries. That’s it. It became all special that was required. Honestly, cinnamon gave a fantastic match to coffee. Try it. I am sure you will love it too.

This time I kept a few things in mind which I kept ignoring other times when I bake. All my ingredients were on room temperature, did not over beat the batter, did not rest the batter outside before keeping it in oven, properly lined the baking pan with parchment paper and used buttermilk (the secret ingredient for soft spongy cakes). Little simple things, made so much of a difference to the final product and it was visible. In the end, I got such a nice sponge that made me so so happy. The colors inside and out, the fragrance, the sponge, the perfect rise, the flavors… everything, it was perfect.

Servings: 6 – 8 (I baked a cake of in my 7” spring foam pan and it served 4 of us (everybody ate 2 good pieces))

Preparation time: 15 mins

Baking Time: 1 hour

Ingredients:

1 Β½ cup all-purpose flour /Maida

1 tbsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 tbsp. instant coffee powder – mixed in 4 tbsp water

1 tsp. cinnamon powder

Β½ cup brown sugar

250ml condensed milk

115 gms unsalted butter

3/4th cup buttermilk – Luke warm

1 cup thinly sliced red apples

Handful of cranberries

For Garnish:
Icing sugar and caramel sauce (preferably homemade)

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 200 deg C for 10 mins. Meanwhile prepare your batter.
  2. In a large bowl, sieve together flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, beat together brown sugar, butter for a few minutes. Add condensed milk and coffee mixture and incorporate well. Throw in the cranberries and mix.
  4. Now combine the wet and dry ingredients in parts. Mix till there are no lumps and no dry parts are visible. Take care that we do not overmix.
  5. Spray some oil to your baking pan and line it with parchment paper on the base and on the sides.
  6. Place your sliced apples at the base of the pan in slight overlapping pattern. When the base is completely covered with apples, pour the batter from the top and tap the mould on your table for no air gaps.
  7. Bake it for 1 hour at 150 deg C. It should be done in max. 1 hour or even less than that. I have a small oven and I bake it covering with foil for first 30mins and then the rest with foil removed. It took me complete 1 hour. Check in between after half the time and adjust the settings as per your oven if required, because every oven behaves differently.
  8. Let it cool down for 15 mins before demolding. And cool it further for 15mins.
  9. Dust with icing sugar and caramel sauce and serve warm.

 

For Β caramel sauce recipe (which just takes 10 mins to make) click on the link below:

Homemade Caramel Sauce

 

Weekend is here! Happy baking! πŸ˜€

Lots of Love  ❀

 

10 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Coffee upside-down Cake (Eggless)

Leave a Reply

